top of page

Quick Links 


One of the nation's premier athletic programs, Alabama State Athletics sponsors 18 Division I sports (eight men's, 10 women's) and is a member of the Southwestern Athletic Conference.


Alabama State University was founded in 1867, in Marion, Ala., as a school for African-Americans. The school started as the Lincoln Normal School with $500 raised by nine freed slaves now known as the Marion Nine, making ASU one of the nation’s oldest institutions of higher education founded for black Americans.


SWAC - The Southwestern Athletic Conference, Inc. is organized exclusively for the purpose of encouraging, promoting, advancing, and conducting intercollegiate sports activities and other recreational and not-for-profit activities among the members of the Conference.

bottom of page