top of page

Our Proud History 


The Alabama State University Metropolitan Atlanta Alumni Chapter (MAAC) was chartered in 1982 after realizing that several hundred alumni lived and worked in the Atlanta vicinity. George Harris served as the first president and Harris recalled that many “Hornets” from Atlanta were actually meeting in Montgomery, Birmingham and Mobile for those classic football games which actually spurred the would-be-members to charter 
a chapter.


Membership grew rapidly, and then tapered off with a chapter in the 
Atlanta area being chartered. Through the early years, the chapter witnessed a resurgence of concerned, willing and dedicated members 
with a greater commitment to support the university and the greater Metro Atlanta communities. 


During the period of the 1990’s, the chapter experienced a tremendous growth in membership that resulted in the chapter increasing its visibility by contributing funds to support three (3) scholarships to students attending ASU; hosting an annual formal dinner/dance; sponsoring a tour of the ASU Choir, providing financial contributions to the ASU Defense Fund, and attending and participating in the National Alumni Association and SE Regional Conferences.



In 2001 following the NAA’s 26th Biennial Convention in Memphis, TN, the Metro Atlanta Alumni Chapter stepped up to the mantle and hosted the 2003 27th Biennial Convention of the NAA in Atlanta, GA., and the chapter has continued its growth since. 


2012 - Present

In 2012 and 2013, the MAAC reached triple digit members with 101 and 136, respectively.  In 2014, the chapter hosted the NAA SE Regional Conference in Atlanta.

Since receiving the alumni charter, the Metro Atlanta Alumni Chapter has had 10 previous presidents - George Harris, Matthew Dawson, Henry Brown, Delores Johnson, Charles Perry, Willie Alexander and Irmogene Alexander, James Russell, Pamela Perkins, and Erick Wright. In December 2015, Jeannine Brown was elected as the 11th president until February 2017 when Brown stepped down and she was replaced by Dr. Donald Prater for the remainder of the current two-year term through December 2017. 

bottom of page